Skip to main content

New Mexico State writers – M.F.A., M.A., and B.A. Programs

  • Lee K. Abbott (B.A. English) was the award-winning author of seven books, including his collected stories, “All Things, All at Once.” Was director of Ohio State University’s MFA for decades.


  • Camille Acker  (M.F.A. Fiction) is the author of the short story collection “Training School for Negro Girls.” Has two books forthcoming from Penguin Random House (see “Student Stories” link for more information).


  • Victoria Barrett (M.F.A Fiction) is the publisher of acclaimed press Engine Books.








  • Jeff Frawley (M.F.A. Fiction) was a 2010-2011 Fulbright scholar in Creative Writing, living and working on his novel in Budapest, Hungary.



  • Carrie Grinstead (M.F.A. Fiction) is the author of the story collection “I Have Her Memories Now.” (See “Student Stories” link for more information)


  • Becky Hagenston (M.A. Fiction) is the author of three story collections, including “Scavengers,” which won the Permafrost Prize.




  • Savannah Johnston (M.F.A. Fiction) is the author of the short story collection “Rites.”


  • Tyler Julian (M.F.A. Fiction) is the author of the poetry collection “Wyoming.”






  • Jill McEldowney (M.F.A. Poetry) is the author of the poetry chapbook “Airs Above Ground” and the full-length book “Otherlight.”




  • Joey Nicoletti (M.F.A. Poetry) most recent book of poetry is the collection “Fan Mail.”


  • Alexander Parsons (M.A. fiction) is the author of the AWP Prize winning novel “Leaving Disneyland” and the novel “Malpais.”


  • Barry Pearce (M.F.A. Fiction) won the prestigious Nelson Algren Grand Prize for his story “Chez Whatever” in 2019.


  • Ramona Reeves (M.F.A. Fiction) won the Drue Heinz Prize for her short story collection  
    “It Falls Gently All Around.” (See “Student Stories” link for more information) 


  • LeCroy Rhyanes (M.F.A. Poetry) started Voices Behind Walls, a creative writing workshop in juvenile detention centers in the Southwest that encourages offenders to express themselves through poetry. Lee, along with NMSU Literature graduate Justin DeSenso, was also instrumental in helping to create “Hip-Hop Stacks,” a catalog of hip-hop literature, music, art and scholarship now located at the NMSU library.  


  • Brooke Sahni  (MFA Poetry) her full-length poetry collection, Before I Had the Word, was selected by Maggie Smith as the winner of the 2020 X.J. Kennedy Poetry Prize from Texas Review Press. She is also the author of Divining (Orison Books, 2020), which won the Orison Chapbook Prize.  



  • Andrew Scott (M.F.A. Fiction) is the author of the short story collection “Naked Summer” and the editor of the collection “12 Bar Blues.” 





  • Joshua Wheeler (M.F.A. Poetry) is the author of the nonfiction book “Acid West.”